The Sunday Post – June 17th

TSP

Welcome to The Sunday Post, which is hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a chance to recap the previous week and announce anything for the upcoming week. You can talk about whatever you want in this post as well.

Continue reading “The Sunday Post – June 17th”

Advertisements

Review #117 – Children of Blood and Bone

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Series: Legacy of Orïsha, #1
Length: 525 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

Synopsis:
Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.
But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Continue reading “Review #117 – Children of Blood and Bone”

Can’t Wait Wednesday – June 13th

CWW

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings. The aim of the post is to select a book, usually upcoming, that you can’t wait to read and discuss it.

Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart

Synopsis:
In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi Tessaro face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other in prison.

Serina has been groomed her whole life to become a Grace–someone to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining, subjugated example of the perfect woman. But when her headstrong and rebellious younger sister, Nomi, catches the heir’s eye, it’s Serina who takes the fall for the dangerous secret that Nomi has been hiding.

Now trapped in a life she never wanted, Nomi has only one way to save Serina: surrender to her role as a Grace until she can use her position to release her sister. This is easier said than done. A traitor walks the halls of the palace, and deception lurks in every corner. But Serina is running out of time, imprisoned on an island where she must fight to the death to survive and one wrong move could cost her everything.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday – June 13th”

Review #116 – Love, Hate & Other Filters

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Series: Standalone
Length: 281 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

I have obtained an ARC version of this book. Thoughts may not accurate to the final product. This has not effected the review in any way.

Synopsis:
A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.


American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.

Continue reading “Review #116 – Love, Hate & Other Filters”

Monthly Recap – May 2018

ARM

It’s time for another month recap! Each month, I go over on what I have done the for the month and keep track of my progress on goals. Let’s see how I have done for May. I can’t even believe that we are already halfway through the year. This year is going by so fast!

Read:

 Half Bad by Sally Green War Storm by Victoria Aveyard Wonder Woman by Leigh Bardugo Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

I have read 5 books in the month of may. Based on what I read, I would call that a successful month! I even enjoyed most of the books I have read as well.

Continue reading “Monthly Recap – May 2018”

Can’t Wait Wednesday – June 6th

CWW

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings. The aim of the post is to select a book, usually upcoming, that you can’t wait to read and discuss it.

Skyward by Brandon Sanderson

Synopsis:
Spensa’s world has been under attack for hundreds of years. An alien race called the Krell leads onslaught after onslaught from the sky in a never-ending campaign to destroy humankind. Humanity’s only defense is to take to their ships and combat the Krell. Pilots are the heroes of what’s left of the human race.Becoming a pilot has always been Spensa’s dream. Since she was a little girl, she has imagined soaring above the earth and proving her bravery. But her fate is intertwined with that of her father–a pilot himself who was killed years ago when he abruptly deserted his team, leaving Spensa’s chances of attending Flight School at slim to none.No one will let Spensa forget what her father did, but she is determined to fly. And the Krell just made that a possibility. They’ve doubled their fleet, which will make Spensa’s world twice as deadly . . . but just might take her skyward.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday – June 6th”

Review #115 – Ignite the Stars

Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Series: Untitled, #1
Length: 400 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Synopsis:
Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cocha is a seventeen-year-old girl.

A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ia’s age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.

Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth’s military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances—including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives—cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth’s clutches before these bonds deepen?

Continue reading “Review #115 – Ignite the Stars”

Review #114 – Hour of the Bees

Hour of the Bees by Lindsay Eagar
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Series: Standalone
Length: 368 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

Synopsis:
While her friends are spending their summers having pool parties and sleepovers, twelve-year-old Carolina — Carol — is spending hers in the middle of the New Mexico desert, helping her parents move the grandfather she’s never met into a home for people with dementia. At first, Carol avoids prickly Grandpa Serge. But as the summer wears on and the heat bears down, Carol finds herself drawn to him, fascinated by the crazy stories he tells her about a healing tree, a green-glass lake, and the bees that will bring back the rain and end a hundred years of drought. As the thin line between magic and reality starts to blur, Carol must decide for herself what is possible — and what it means to be true to her roots. Readers who dream that there’s something more out there will be enchanted by this captivating novel of family, renewal, and discovering the wonder of the world.

Continue reading “Review #114 – Hour of the Bees”