Weekend Review – Wake Series!

WR

Weekend Reviews are an event here at Keep Reading Review where Book Reviews are posted everyday for the weekend, or so.

You know what? It is finally time for the first Weekend Review at KRF! There has been others, but those were done before the big move. Just like it was stated before, reviews are posted in a couple of days in a row, usually on the weekends. The reviews are usually in a series, or a similar theme. In this upcoming weekend, the Wake series by Lisa McMann will be reviewed and posted!

However, Wake has aalready been posted. Therefore, this weekend will on consist of Fade and Gone.

    

I hope you enjoy this upcoming weekend and the following reviews!

Advertisements

The Sunday Post – August 27th

TSP

Welcome to The Sunday Post, which is hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a chance to recap the previous week and announce anything for the upcoming week. You can talk about whatever you want in this post as well.

Continue reading “The Sunday Post – August 27th”

Arrow Review #61 – The Hate U Give

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
_____________________________
1661957_____________________________

Rating: 6/5 Stars
Series: Standalone
Length: 444 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]
Synopsis:
Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does or does not say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

Continue reading “Arrow Review #61 – The Hate U Give”

Can’t-Wait Wednesday – August 23rd

CWW

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings. The aim of the post is to select a book, usually upcoming, that you can’t wait to read and discuss it.

I have been waiting impatiently for Warcross by Marie Lu. I heard plenty of good things about the book and it actually looks like it will be a good read as well. I just want it now and I already have it on pre-order!

I do not think I have read any other books by Marie Lu although I do have another series in my TBR shelf, I just haven’t picked it up yet. This one sounds way more interesting and I hope it sets me off wanting every book of her’s. I know it is good, and I just hope that it can live up to the hype it has!

Arrow Review #60 – Sleeping Giants

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel
_____________________________
1661957_____________________________

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars
Series: Themis Files, #1
Length: 304 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]
Synopsis:
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

Continue reading “Arrow Review #60 – Sleeping Giants”

Can’t-Wait Wednesday – August 16th

CWW

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings. The aim of the post is to select a book, usually upcoming, that you can’t wait to read and discuss it.

This week, I cannot wait for One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake to be released. I have been waiting ever since the first book in the series came out and finished it quickly.

CWW

When I read the first book, I felt like I was reading a prequel for the series. I really missed out on the action and I just know that this book as everything that we been missing. Based on early reviews of some people, it does seem to have everything we want and may even be better than the first, so I am hoping for the best. I just really want this to have all the fights and action that we wanted.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – August 14th

ITWAYR

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date. The post is used for discussion based on what you are reading, finished reading, or what you’re planning to read.

I am reading Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson. The story is about a girl who has allegedly killed a 3-Month old on the night her mother was babysitting when she was 9. Now 6 years later, Mary needs the truth to come out, but what is the truth? This is the question that lasts in the story. Through the POV of Mary, you keep getting two different stories. Her’s allegedly story, and the story she makes us thinks it true. Which side is true? We truly don’t know and I am guessing we will not know until the very end. However, I do know that something is up. It gets interesting, but I am still waiting for that moment that catches the attention.

Arrow Review #59 – The Last Star

The Last Star by Rick Yancey
_____________________________
1661957_____________________________

Rating: 3/5 Stars
Series: The 5th Wave, #3
Length: 338 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]
Synopsis:
The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

Continue reading “Arrow Review #59 – The Last Star”

Thursday Quotables – August 10th

TQ

Thursday Quotables is a weekly meme hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies. You pick a book you’re currently reading a share a quote that you would like to share and share why.

I am currently reading Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan and have almost completed it as well. The quote from this book I’ll share is:

“He forced his fists to unclench. “Look, lady, we’re not going to go all Hunger Games on each other. Isn’t going to happen.”

This quote was spoken by a character, Leo Valdez. If you have read the series, you know the Leo Valdez is usually the one that comes up with these random, funny sayings. I came across this one earlier today and I just thought it was funny that the Hunger Games series was referenced. I just did not expect for the reference to happen at all. I just figured that with everything that was going on for the characters, how would they know about the book, or even have time to read the book? They got plenty of other things to worry about, like Mother Gaea!