Arrow Review #58 – Elizabeth’s Legacy

Elizabeth’s Legacy By Victor Kloss
_____________________________
1661957_____________________________

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars
Series: Royal Institute of Magic, #1
Length: 366 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]
Synopsis:
Two years ago, Ben Greenwood’s parents walked out the door and never returned. The police have all but given up finding them when Ben stumbles upon a peculiar letter addressed to his dad. “You are the most wanted man in the Unseen Kingdoms. Unless you come to us, we cannot help. For your child’s sake, tell us what you know.”

The letter is from an organisation called the Royal Institute of Magic and is dated a day before his parents disappeared. Like most people, fourteen-year-old Ben hasn’t the faintest idea what the Royal Institute of Magic is, but he has his first clue: the logo on the letter.

Armed with nothing but his wits and the help of his good friend Charlie, Ben sets out to find the Institute and, through them, his parents. To succeed, he will have to navigate a land filled with fantastic creatures and Spellshooters, where magic can be bought and sold, to unravel an ancient family secret that could hold the key to defeating an evil the Institute has been fighting for the last five hundred years.

_____________________________

Firstly, I should say I have received this book through Amazon for free and there was no way that this has impacted my opinions at all. I have picked this book up shortly after my mission to read the complete Harry Potter series. When I was notified of this book on “sale” for free, I decided that it couldn’t hurt and give it a try. I knew this was more middle grade, but I was still interested in the magic.

Honestly, this felt like a beginner Harry Potter. If Harry Potter might seem to much for someone or to long, I would suggest this series instead. It’s much shorter, but has the same feel to it. There’s a whole new world to explore filled with certain magic and special creatures like elves and more. The world-creation was one of the best I have seen. You can easily tell that the author focuses on everything that a story needs.

While I can say that this book was good, I think there is a bit of a “It’s not you, it’s me” kind of feel here. I liked reading the story, but I found myself not into as much as I hoped I would be. However, like I said, I know a ton of readers would like this. I am just one of the odds one out.

Lastly, it has come to my attention that the author of the series has passed away and his family is currently trying to let his legacy live and get the last and final book published through another author. All they need is some support and I’m bringing the word forward. If you like this book and want to see the series finished, please support the family. Based on what I have seen, it could be soon!

Leave a Reply

