Book Review #138 – Wildcard

Wildcard by Marie Lu
Rating: 5 Stars
Series: Warcross, #2
Length: 341 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

Synopsis:
All bets are off. This time the gamble is survival.

Emika Chen barely made it out of the Warcross Championships alive. Now that she knows the truth behind Hideo’s new NeuroLink algorithm, she can no longer trust the one person she’s always looked up to, who she once thought was on her side.

Determined to put a stop to Hideo’s grim plans, Emika and the Phoenix Riders band together, only to find a new threat lurking on the neon-lit streets of Tokyo. Someone’s put a bounty on Emika’s head, and her sole chance for survival lies with Zero and the Blackcoats, his ruthless crew. But Emika soon learns that Zero isn’t all that he seems—and his protection comes at a price.

Caught in a web of betrayal, with the future of free will at risk, just how far will Emika go to take down the man she loves?

Continue reading “Book Review #138 – Wildcard”

Advertisements

Bookish Naughty or Nice Tag- 2018

NewBTLogo

Have You Been Naughty or Nice?

I recently saw this tag and since it is the Holidays, I figured why not do it? After all, it does seem like a fun tag to do! I believe I would be Nice this year, but let’s see how I do.

BW3

Continue reading “Bookish Naughty or Nice Tag- 2018”

Book Review #137 – Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C.Dao
Rating: 5 Stars
Series: Rise of the Empress, #2
Length: 384 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

Synopsis:
Princess Jade has grown up in exile, hidden away in a monastery while her stepmother, the ruthless Xifeng, rules as Empress of Feng Lu. But the empire is in distress and its people are sinking into poverty and despair. Even though Jade doesn’t want the crown, she knows she is the only one who can dethrone the Empress and set the world right. Ready to reclaim her place as rightful heir, Jade embarks on a quest to raise the Dragon Lords and defeat Xifeng and the Serpent God once and for all. But will the same darkness that took Xifeng take Jade, too? Or will she find the strength within to save herself, her friends, and her empire?
Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with breathtaking pain and beauty, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is filled with dazzling magic, powerful prose, and characters readers won’t soon forget.

Continue reading “Book Review #137 – Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix”

Dear Santa…

3I’ve been good this year and all I want for Christmas this year are books….

Every year for Christmas, it is almost a tradition for Children around the world to write Letters for Santa or a Christmas List to send to the North Pole. They promise Santa that they been a good child this year and share what they would like to find in their presents underneath their Christmas Tree. Today, we are all writing that letter, asking for books! You can write out an actual letter, or just simply state which books you are hoping to receive this year.

BW3

Continue reading “Dear Santa…”

Book Review #136 – Clash of Beasts

Clash of Beasts by Lisa McMann
Rating: 4 Stars
Series: Going Wild, #3
Length: 400 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

Synopsis:
Charlie, Mac, and Maria managed to rescue the Project Chimera scientists from the devious Dr. Gray, but they couldn’t stop him. Now he’s closer than ever to enacting his dreadful master plan to transform all of humanity into a monstrous new species. And even worse, Kelly has betrayed her friends and joined forces with him.

To defeat their beastly foes, Charlie and the others are going to need help. Luckily, they just saved the creators of the bracelets that give them their unbelievable powers, and they’re about to get an upgrade. With even fiercer abilities, it’s finally time for these kids to unleash their wild sides and save the world.

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull—as well as anyone who loves superhero movies like Wonder Woman and Black Panther—Going Wild is an action-packed series that blends science fiction, fantasy, and the animal kingdom into one unputdownable adventure.

Continue reading “Book Review #136 – Clash of Beasts”

The Versatile Blogger Award

NewANLogo

I Have Been Nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award!

versatile-blogger-award

I have never heard of this award until a couple of months ago and the next thing I knew, I was nominated for one by Jennifer @ Sleeping Suburb. Thank you Jennifer!

The Rules
• If you are nominated, you’ve been awarded the Versatile Blogger Award
• Thank the person who gave you the award
• Include link to their blog
• Select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly
• Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award
• Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself

Continue reading “The Versatile Blogger Award”