Book Review #148 – Interment

Interment by Samira Ahmed
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Series: Standalone
Length: 381 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

Thank You GoodReads Giveaway & Publisher for a copy! This has no way impacted my review.

Synopsis:
Rebellions are built on hope.

Set in a horrifying near-future United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin and her parents are forced into an internment camp for Muslim American citizens.

With the help of newly made friends also trapped within the internment camp, her boyfriend on the outside, and an unexpected alliance, Layla begins a journey to fight for freedom, leading a revolution against the internment camp’s Director and his guards.

Heart-racing and emotional, Internment challenges readers to fight complicit silence that exists in our society today.

Continue reading “Book Review #148 – Interment”

Book Review #141 – What to Say Next

What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum
Rating: 3 Stars
Series: Standalone
Length: 306 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

Synopsis:
Two struggling teenagers find an unexpected connection just when they need it most.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

Continue reading “Book Review #141 – What to Say Next”

Review #116 – Love, Hate & Other Filters

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Series: Standalone
Length: 281 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

I have obtained an ARC version of this book. Thoughts may not accurate to the final product. This has not effected the review in any way.

Synopsis:
A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.


American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.

Continue reading “Review #116 – Love, Hate & Other Filters”

Review #114 – Hour of the Bees

Hour of the Bees by Lindsay Eagar
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Series: Standalone
Length: 368 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]

Synopsis:
While her friends are spending their summers having pool parties and sleepovers, twelve-year-old Carolina — Carol — is spending hers in the middle of the New Mexico desert, helping her parents move the grandfather she’s never met into a home for people with dementia. At first, Carol avoids prickly Grandpa Serge. But as the summer wears on and the heat bears down, Carol finds herself drawn to him, fascinated by the crazy stories he tells her about a healing tree, a green-glass lake, and the bees that will bring back the rain and end a hundred years of drought. As the thin line between magic and reality starts to blur, Carol must decide for herself what is possible — and what it means to be true to her roots. Readers who dream that there’s something more out there will be enchanted by this captivating novel of family, renewal, and discovering the wonder of the world.

Continue reading “Review #114 – Hour of the Bees”

Arrow Review #75 – Dead to You

Dead to You by Lisa McMann
_____________________________
1661957_____________________________

Rating: 4/5 Stars
Series: Standalone
Length: 243 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]
Synopsis:
Some memories are better left untouched.

Ethan was abducted from his front yard when he was just seven years old. Now, at sixteen, he has returned to his family.

It’s a miracle… at first.

Then the tensions start to build. His reintroduction to his old life isn’t going smoothly, and his family is tearing apart all over again. If only Ethan could remember something, anything, about his life before, he’d be able to put the pieces back together.

But there’s something that’s keeping his memory blocked.

Something unspeakable…

Continue reading “Arrow Review #75 – Dead to You”

Arrow Review #74 – Allegedly

Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
_____________________________
1661957_____________________________

Rating: 3/5 Stars
Series: Standalone
Length: 400 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]
Synopsis:
Mary B. Addison killed a baby.

Allegedly. She didn’t say much in that first interview with detectives, and the media filled in the only blanks that mattered: A white baby had died while under the care of a church-going black woman and her nine-year-old daughter. The public convicted Mary and the jury made it official. But did she do it? She wouldn’t say.

Mary survived six years in baby jail before being dumped in a group home. The house isn’t really “home”—no place where you fear for your life can be considered a home. Home is Ted, who she meets on assignment at a nursing home.

There wasn’t a point to setting the record straight before, but now she’s got Ted—and their unborn child—to think about. When the state threatens to take her baby, Mary must find the voice to fight her past. And her fate lies in the hands of the one person she distrusts the most: her Momma. No one knows the real Momma. But who really knows the real Mary?

Continue reading “Arrow Review #74 – Allegedly”

Arrow Review #61 – The Hate U Give

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
_____________________________
1661957_____________________________

Rating: 6/5 Stars
Series: Standalone
Length: 444 Pages
Purchase: [Amazon] | [Barnes & Noble]
Synopsis:
Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does or does not say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

Continue reading “Arrow Review #61 – The Hate U Give”